Los Angeles Rams Rank 4th Greatest QB Franchise in NFL History

Credit: Matthew Emmons-USA TODAY Sports

NFL.com recently ranked all 32 NFL teams by the QBs they’ve played throughout the franchise’s history. The Los Angeles Rams were placed in fourth place in no small part due to having three Hall of Fame quarterbacks playing the bulk of their careers with the team; Bob Waterfield, Norm Van Brocklin, and Kurt Warner.

The Rams fell behind only the Green Bay Packers, Baltimore/Indianapolis Colts, and San Francisco 49ers.

The video broke down the accomplishments of the Los Angeles Rams’ best signal callers. Here is what they have to say;

The Los Angeles Rams Top Quarterbacks

Kurt Warner (1998-2003)

Kurt Warner, their most recent gold jacket, QB led the franchise to its first Super Bowl win in 1999. A two time league MVP Warner became the second player in NFL history, a throw for 40 touchdowns in a season. The Super Bowl 34 MVP guided the Los Angeles Rams to league leading marks in scoring and total offense in each of his first three seasons.

Norm Van Brocklin (1949-1957)

David Boss-USA TODAY SportsCredit: David Boss-USA TODAY Sports

In 1951, Norm Van Brocklin threw for 554 yards in a single game. That record still stands today. He was named to sixth straight Pro Bowls and led the league in passing in 1954. He was a part of five playoff games and led the Rams to their first NFL championship in LA.

Bob Waterfield (1945-1952)

As a rookie in 1945, Bob Waterfield tied for the league high in touchdown passes and guided the Rams to their first NFL title. In fact, he led the team to four NFL championship games. Even while splitting time with Van Brocklin. Waterfield was also the Rams primary kicker and punter his entire career. He racked up 20 career interceptions on defense, including six in that superb rookie campaign.

USA TODAY Sports: Los Angeles Rams
Darryl Norenberg-USA TODAY SportsCredit: Darryl Norenberg-USA TODAY Sports

Roman Gabriel (1962-1972)

Roman Gabriel had plenty of success in 11 seasons with the Rams. The 1969 NFL MVP is the Rams franchise record holder with 154 TD passes.

Jim Everett (1986-1993)

Jim Everett is the Rams all-time leader in passing yardage. He took the Rams to back-to-back playoff trips in 1988 and 89, leading the NFL in touchdown passes in both seasons.

Jared Goff (2016-2020)

Jared Goff helped end the Los Angeles Rams 12-year playoff drought in 2017 and led them to a Super Bowl appearance one year later.

Marc Bulger (2002-2009)

Two-time Pro Bowler, Marc Bulger took over for Kurt Warner in the 2000’s and immediately made an impact. Bulger ranks second on the Rams’ all-time list for passing yards.

NFL: USA TODAY Sports-Archive
Peter Brouillet-USA TODAY SportsCredit: Peter Brouillet-USA TODAY Sports